It is a popular custom among Catholics to devote each day of the week to a particular devotion. The Missal recognizes a similar practice by providing a particular votive Mass for each day of the week, to be used if a feast day is not being celebrated. According to custom, the following devotions are assigned to each day:
SUNDAY ••••••••••••••••••The Holy Trinity
MONDAY ••••••••••••••••••••The Holy Ghost
TUESDAY •••••••••••••••• The Holy Angels
WEDNESDAY••••••••••••••••Saint Joseph
THURSDAY •••••••••••••••••• The Holy Eucharist
FRIDAY ••••••••••••••••... The Sacred Passion
SATURDAY••••••••••••••••The Blessed Virgin Mary
Even without its dedication to the Holy Trinity the Sunday is peculiarly the Lord's Day. Referring to this, Pope Pius XII says: "The results of the struggle between belief and unbelief will depend to a great extent on the use that each of the opposing fronts will make of the Sunday. 'Six days there are for doing work, but the seventh day is the Sabbath of complete rest..." (Ex. 31:15). How will these Christians not fear spiritual death, who perform servile work on feastdays and whose rest on these days is not devoted to religion and piety... Sundays and holydays, then,must be made holy by divine worship, which gives homage to God and heavenly food to the soul. Sunday must again become the day of the Lord the day of adoration, of prayer, of rest, of recollection and reflection, of happy reunion in the intimate circle of the family."